1. Listen to your body

Simple, yet it takes practice to master. Observe how you feel after eating certain foods. Feel what your body is telling you. For me processed sugars were the first thing I scratched off my list.

2. Carbs, Carbs, Carbs

No they’re not the enemy. They’re just that hyperactive friend you might want to hang out with in the morning. What I do is, I have breakfast rich on fats and carbs. My carbs intake during the rest of the day is close to none though. At lunch, I’d have some fruits. I prefer eating fruit to pastry, bread or any other processed sugars.  In the evening – surprise, surprise – I eat protein-rich food, and vegetables low on carbs.

3. Your digestive system

Integrate foods which are good for your digestion. You will avoid that abdominal bloating. You will feel better. For example, here’s a very short list of foods I have integrated in my daily food intake: oats, apple, pear, prunes, broccoli, buttermilk, kiwi. I will follow up on this topic soon.

4. Get enough minerals

Make sure you are getting the minerals your body needs. This is another topic I will go into details soon. The main idea is, your body needs iron, zinc, calcium, magnesium, folic acid, vitamins A, B, C, D, E, K. We will go into details, but you can always google what foods are rich on those and what amount of them you need. Just make sure you’re getting enough.

5. Random tips

Alcohol – no, no, no! Fried food, processed sugars, anything that comes out of a plastic package and has “unnatural” ingredients. Look at point 1, listen to your body. Mine doesn’t agree with chocolates, sweets, deep fried food so I got rid of them. Now, having some dark chocolate in the morning isn’t the end of the world. In the end of the day, just think about your food intake as a flow. What I do is I think about the amount of energy I’m consuming, and what amount of that energy I am going to burn. It is all about the good balance.

6. WORK OUT.

Not just 2-3 times per week. Your body needs physical activity 6-7 times per week 🙂 Stay disciplined. Stay dedicated. Do it for your well being now. Your body will thank you later.

